Andrew Scheuerle gave his rivals every chance to upstage him at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway on Saturday night (October 31), but when the chequered flag unfurled at the end of 30 laps, it was Scheuerle who again emerged triumphant to score his third feature race win in succession. In what was perhaps the hardest of his three wins thus far, Scheuerle finished ahead of Peter Lack and Luke Oldfield, who charged through the field after starting 13th. Lapped traffic provided Lack with several opportunities to run down Scheuerle but a final restart with just two laps to run cleared the way for Scheuerle to again visit victory lane.

Big drives from Steve Johnson and Brad Hilder propelled them into the top five, with Dave Fanning enjoying a solid return in sixth spot. Mark Pholi, Brad Ayers, Dale Shilleto and David Whell rounded out the top ten and were the only other finishers. Lachlan McHugh was looking good for a top three result until a he ran wide in turn two with just three laps to run and made contact with Oldfield which forced the teenager to the infield lamenting what might have been.

A 25-car field fronted for qualifying and it was Toowoomba’s Whell who left everybody in his wake in time trials to clock KRE Race Engines Fast Time. As the only driver to go under 12 seconds (11.747), Whell finished ahead of Richard Morgan, McHugh, Andrew Liebke and Steven Greer, with the likes of Lack (12th), Scheuerle (13th) and Oldfield (17th) languishing somewhat and needing to turn things around in the heats.

The opening heat saw Scheuerle score maximum points when he downed Nelson Reddacliff and Lack. Hilder hightailed to victory in heat two, downing Callum Walker and Andrew Marks.

Oldfield proved too pacey in heat three, trumping Fanning and McHugh, with Lack outgunning Pholi and Ayers in heat four.

Kratzmann bounced back from a setback in his opening heat to take out the fifth preliminary in advance of Fanning and Reddacliff while, in the final heat, Oldfield doubled up to deny Scheuerle, with Luke Tinson in third spot.

At the completion of the preliminaries, it was McHugh who emerged as the top qualifier for the first time. In the Lucas Oils Dash, Greer and Fanning were eliminated in the bronze shootout, to be joined on the infield by Morgan and Pholi from the silver shootout. In the finale, it was Lack who triumphed to secure pole position for the feature event, outpacing Whell, McHugh and Scheuerle.

Ben Hilder was untroubled in winning the East Coast Logistics B Main, taking Tinson, Shilleto and Dan Murray into the feature race with him.

It was actually Whell who got the best of the start from the outside front row to lead the opening lap of the feature. However, the race was halted on the very next circulation following a tangle between Fanning and Kratzmann that left the latter out of action. The restart did not go well for Whell, with firstly lack and then Scheuerle moving ahead within one lap of the resumption. Scheuerle went to the front on lap eight and held sway for the remainder despite Lack’s valiant efforts to reel him in. Morgan and McHugh relegated Whell further on lap nine, with Oldfield and Johnson doing likewise a lap later. As the laps wound down, lapped traffic was heavy and unpredictable and Lack looked set to pounce on more than one occasion. Two late race restarts – the first to remove the stricken McHugh on lap 28 and the second following an incident involving Walker and Dan Murray on the final lap – enabled Scheuerle to keep Lack at bay and secure another win.

Steve Potts survived a late-race surge from Jason Dreaver to win the 20-lap AMCA Nationals feature race, with NSW’s Stuart Hall edging Matt Hardy for third. Matt Enders finished fifth, followed Russ Hardy, Peter Greer, Luke Geraghty, Geoff Hayes and Ian Millar.

The Wingless Sprint feature race was a straightforward affair with Brant Chandler leading from the outset to defeat Adam Butler, Mitch Gowland, Jason King and Brad Keiler.